2NE1 starts a forest Fire with a Lollipop

At least, that’s what seems like has happened.

When 2NE1 came out with their single, Fire, a forest fire swept through the netizens, and the poor unfortunate souls who were in the fire’s way got burned and experienced post-traumatic stress including side effects of sudden obsessions over 2NE1.

We first knew about 2NE1 when YG was advertising them as the ‘female Big Bang’ which I think is totally unfair not only to 2NE1 themselves, but Big Bang and us netizens. It puts a lot of pressure on 2NE1 to live up to what Mr. YG has decided to make the netizens expect. Big Bang could feel slightly insulted if they don’t feel like 2NE1 is good enough to be that closely related to them. Us netizens could get sorely disappointed when 2NE1 is NOT like a female Big Bang at all, but just another new group.

It didn’t turn out that way though.

‘Lollipop’ was a pretty popular song, hitting the top of the charts, only to be taken off since it wasn’t a real song, but a song made for a CF.  However, ‘Lollipop’ was technically Big Bang’s song, since it specificaly says “Big Bang feat. 2NE1”, so I personally think that its popularity is thanks to Big Bang and their awesomeness.  That, and the fact that it was so darn catchy! I don’t even think that catchy is the right word to describe it. I mean, how can a song where when even the phrase “lolli lolli lollipop” is mentioned, the song is stuck in your head for the rest of the day, be considered catchy? So they had the popularity, the catchiness, and now all they needed was a dance for it, which was exactly what they were missing. Most of these popular songs have a dance to it that everyone does as they sing it (ex: So Hot, Gee, Nobody) but in this mv, they were just randomly dancing by themselves.

But enough about lollipops.

Let’s talk fire.

The first time I heard this song, it was actually the song song, as in the mp3, not watching the mv. I just thought, “well, I didn’t really expect better.”  It wasn’t a song that would make me want to replay it.  I couldn’t even remember how it went 10 seconds after the song was over. I think it’s partly because the song is 80% rap, so there’s not much that you can sing along with. Then I watched the street version of the mv, and the song didn’t seem so bad. It was like the mv made it more bearable because the moving pictures on the screen distracted your brain from how bad the song was. Yes, 2NE1 fans, feel the burn… from the fire.  Ok, the song wasn’t that bad. I’m just exaggerating. But even if the mv did act as a distraction, it still wasn’t much to look at. Again, they didn’t have a real dance. Half the time they were just randomly moving around, doing their own dance moves. And you would think that maybe they would change the scenes once in a while to make it more interesting, but no. They did do it in the space version, but then you should do it to both versions.  It’s called balance.

So maybe I’m being a bit harsh on them. I mean, come on, they’re newbies for goodness sake, give them a break. I think the reason I’m being like this is because I don’t get why everyone is making such a huge deal out of them. And you 2NE1 fans, don’t tell me it’s because they’re so awesome, because it’s not healthy to lie. Plus, 2NE1 fans are just plain rude.  I know Cassies are scary, but they only do taht when you insult their precious ‘Gods of the East’. 2NE1 fans just bash and insult everyone, whether they are even 2NE1’s competition or not. Even if they’re not in the music business, they still bash them. Have some manners and self control, please. We need more of that in this world.

Now that I’m done with my criticizing, I’ll give a bit of a positive end to this.

I bet you’d be surprised to learn that I do indeed have a fave member in 2NE1 after I just criticized them like that. Well, it’s Minji aka Minzy. I personally prefer Minji. Why, you ask? Oh, just because. Just because she has such a powerful character and so much energy. She brings so much more energy to the stage than Sandara or Park Bom, and her dance moves are pro.  She also happens to be the youngest. Which has nothing to do with the fact that I like her,  btw.

Well, 2NE1, let’s see if my opinion on you will get more on the positive side as you guys come out with more songs.

2 Responses to “2NE1 starts a forest Fire with a Lollipop”


  1. 1 Kaye 29/05/2009 at 11:20 am

    They aren’t bad, but could indeed have been better 🙂
    Minzy and CL are the faces of the band I think. Park Bom and Sandara Park have too much trouble trying to fit into their ‘hip-hop’ style.


Leave a Reply

